Acrylic Resin in a laser cutter?

Resin jewelry making resin art supplies Forums Resin Safety Acrylic Resin in a laser cutter?

Tagged: 

This topic contains 6 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Dylan 1 week, 3 days ago.

• Author

Tahlia

Hi all,

I’m a resin newbie, and I’m trying to figure out if there’s a resin I can safely use in a laser cutter.

Laser cutters use a focused light beam which either melts, burns, or vaporizes away the material.

From my research so far epoxy resin is toxic to cut, and possibly polyester/fibre glass resin as well. But acrylic sheets like perspex ARE safe, so what about acrylic resin?

The aim is to find something I can mix my own colours of, and pour into thin sheets. It needs to be hard like epoxy resin, but most of all it needs to be safe to heat 🤣

Here’s a list of safe/non safe materials to laser cut, incase any of you resinistas know your resin chemicals:

https://www.pololu.com/docs/0J24/3

Thank you so much in advance!

• #12962 Reply

Katherine Swift
    Keymaster

Great question! I don’t have any experience with acrylic resin, so I’m afraid I can’t comment. I would expect an acrylic resin manufacturer to know however.

If you find out an answer, would you mind letting us know?

• #12964 Reply

Tahlia

Thank you! Would you happen to know of any manufacturers/suppliers? As I mentioned I’m super new to resin; only realised there were multiple types in doing this research! I haven’t had much luck googling acrylic resin in order to find suppliers and I’m not sure if that’s because I’m unsure of what I’m looking for or what 🤣

• #13012 Reply

Katherine Swift
        Keymaster

Unfortunately, I don’t know of any, but it sounds like you are using the right search terms.

• #13086 Reply

Anne