Casting in a light bulb?

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Betsy Kristl

Hi folks, I’m not a total newbie to resin, but I am not terribly experienced as you are about to find out. I found a tutorial online for casting cement inside a clear orb light fixture to make garden ornaments which made me wonder if I could do something similar with resin. Given that the glass mold has to be destroyed for this to work, I thought I’d consider something I already own and wish to dispose of – those three inch round lightbulbs surrrounding my bathroom mirror.

I had a funny feeling the answer might be something along the lines of “LOL!,” so I started by using my power drill to spin the bulb mold with a small amound resin around in my garage to see if the dispersion would make it coat the inside uniformly. Now you can laugh… So, I’m wondering if there is any hope for filling the sphere, even if it requires going 1/8″ at a time (though I’d rather pour it as deep as possible).

Of course, my next questions will be: Which kind of resin is best? and How do I remove the shards of glass after breaking the mold? and how long will it take to cure? and, everybody’s favorite, will this cost more money than I have in the bank?

Thanks…

Katherine Swift
      Keymaster

Since resin sticks to glass very well, I don’t know how you could cast the resin in the bulb, then break the bulb without breaking the resin unfortunately.

Darla Mason

Just kicking some thoughts around, what if you lightly coated the inside of the bulb with mold release before pouring?

Katherine Swift
        Keymaster

Mold release would definitely help. I don’t know how easy it would be to roll it around on the inside though and coat the entire surface.

The Resin Art Studio

Hi Betsy,
      I have tried this out with two types of resin.
      Polyester and Epoxy.