Castings have a cloudy finish

Resin jewelry making resin art supplies Forums Resin finishing Castings have a cloudy finish

This topic contains 17 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Anthony 4 months ago.

• Author

Katherine Swift
    Keymaster

This question comes through email by Lisa:

This question comes through email by Lisa:

I am brand new to the resin world and am already frustrated..lol..I purchased your book and decided to make the button pendant using the silicone mold…welllll….it’s not shiny clear, that’s for sure..it’s rather dull and cloudy..as I was reading the forum, I grew increasingly more confused. Using silicone, no shine? Plastic, no shine? So, I have to finish each piece? Sanding? Wouldn’t the 600 grit cause scratches, not shine the piece up? I wet sanded the edges, but yuck! Dullsville for sure..the finished piece in your book is gorgeous and crystal clear..do you have a more detailed reference for uber beginners as myself? I’m one that needs lots of details…lol..I feel like I’ve missed something…help?

• #5622 Reply

Katherine Swift
    Keymaster

Hi Lisa,

First thing I will say is that I have been there too. Resin casting is a learning experience. The best advice I can give you at this point is to enjoy the journey. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Now, onto your question.