Color layering

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      Steve

I’ve been using Casting Craft polyester resin for over 5 years to great success. BUT, occasionally I have color separation. Let me explain.
      I make custom made pens, usually in two colors. My mold is 5″L X 3″W X 3/4″T(depth) I use a digital scale to measure 2/3 and 1/3 of the mold volume. ~ 4.5 and 2.5 ounces respectively. 5 drops of catalyst per ounce of resin. As I said I’ve done this many times. The 1/3 portion, which I call the secondary color, gets extra drops of catalyst (15-16 @ 2.5 oz.) so it “flashes” faster than the primary color. That creates a syrupy pour into the looser/more liquid primary color and does not mix together. In other words: red primary + yellow secondary will not turn orange after a light stir/swirl motion but instead leave streaks of yellow throughout the red.. Of course some does mix together. I’m not looking for virgin color division.
      My issue is the colors layering. The secondary color occasionally floats to the top.There IS a bit dispersed in the primary. I have timed it to about 7 minutes before it starts to become a blob instead of thickerer. I use Jacquard powered pigments. Every thing is new-ish, temperatures are normal,things are relatively clean, well as clean as poring resins can get lol.
      And it is not just a certain pigment that does it. I’ve had it happen with every color and as I said it happens occasionally. Maybe once in ~30 pours. It is an interesting result but not quite what I’m looking for. I use it anyways and if I don’t like the look , well I try again.
      Any ideas on the layering issue?

Katherine Swift
      Keymaster

Hi Steve,

So that I’m clear, the second color you mix, which has extra catalyst added, turns into a blob and floats to the top instead of remaining intermixed with the first color you mix.

Do I have that right?

Steve