How to even out a resin blemish

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Katherine Swift
      Keymaster

This question comes from Mark:

I am new to epoxy resin work, ran into a small problem and need some advice.
      I am a professional artist on Maui.
      I am using the resin as an alternative to automobile clear-coat.
      My current works are grinded on aluminum, usually about 4 feet by six feet.
      I had a small dimple in one area and did not want to sand and re-coat the entire surface. I added a tiny bit of fresh resin and tried to smooth it out with a squeegee, but now it is more noticeable than the tiny pin hole I tried to hide.
      The problem area is only about one inch square, but noticeable from certain angles.
      Can I sand the squeegee marks down and simply spray the area with a high gloss spray?
      If so, which type? Crystal acrylic, lacquer, enamel, automotive urethane? Something else?
      Or do I need to cut and buff and run through the grits and mechanically polish to a high gloss?

Katherine Swift
      Keymaster

Hi Mark,