Ice Resin over Envirotex Jewelry Resin

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author
      Kellie

Hi there,
      I’m new to the resin world and have been experimenting with Envirotex Jewelry Resin. I like how it’s clear and easy to use, however my pieces have been cureing for a week and while they have hardened, I can still indent it with my nail. The indentation goes away quickly, but what I really want is a stone hard finish that doesn’t indent at all.

Does anyone know if this type of resin hardness like stone, or is it just it’s nature to allow nails to make an indentation?

I’ve heard of Ice Resin and polyester resins, so I’m wondering if you can use one of those to coat the EnviroTex Jewelry Resin and if I can, will it make it hard?

I’m not sure if im doing something wrong with the Envirotex Jewelry Resin. I’ve followed instructions, warmed the resin and hardener, but am wondering if it wasn’t warm enough in my home.

I’d love any ideas, feedback, help, etc! Thanks in advance!

Katherine Swift
      Keymaster

Hi Kellie,

Sometimes, this resin will be dentable, even when it’s fully cured. ICE resin or the Resin Obsession crystal doming resin I believe cures harder than the Envirotex jewelry resin. https://shop.resinobsession.com/collections/resin/resin-obsession-crystal-doming-resin While I don’t have any experience putting either of these over Envirotex jewelry resin, it has been my experience that putting ‘like over like’ (say epoxy over more epoxy) works fine.

I would not use polyester resin in this case. It is meant for molds and not shallow pours like it sounds like you are doing.

Kellie

Hi Katherine,