My UV Resin warps/curls

This topic contains 8 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Julia 2 weeks, 5 days ago.

• Author

Sandy

Hello! I’m new to this and have started out with the UV Resin, not sure of the brand but comes from China I think (ordered from Amazon). Every single time each of my pieces turn up at both ends and dip in the middle so it’s like a teeter-totter. What am I doing wrong??? At first I held my uv flashlight super close for a few minutes, the ends curled up, I thought I was holding it too long and too close so shortened my time with the uv flashlight, ends still curled up, then just quickly ran the light up and down the piece but still the ends curled up, lastly I held the light about 8″ higher and ran it over the piece, it didn’t dry it out all the way so let it sit, but the ends still curled up, not quite as much. Am I doing something wrong? I’ve seen videos where people hold their light right up to their piece for minutes and theirs didn’t curl up. I am frustrated. Thank you for any help, I have searched and searched and haven’t found anything on this particular subject.

• #14282 Reply

Katherine Swift
    Keymaster

I’m afraid I can’t be of much help to you. I’ve used UV resin a little bit, but haven’t run into this problem.

• #14722 Reply

Darrian S

I just made a piece (tried) with UV resin and I had a similar thing happen. I live in Texas so the sun is VERY bright here. I sat the piece to cure on my window sill and came back 30 minutes later to find that it has….risen in the middle? I’m using a cherry blossom mold, I cleaned i5 last night and let it dry overnight. It created a dome basically and it has like a little stub in the middle of it and also created edges towards the edges of the petals?! I mixed some glitter in and when i put the piece aside to cure it had no bubbles……
    I hope someone has answers 😭 I will post a picture for reference

• #14723 Reply

Darrian S