Polyester Resin Curing Trouble

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Kayla Burke

Hello,
      I have been working with polyester resin for 3 years now and lately I have been having problems getting my objects to cure properly. I am pouring 4″ deep molds. The castings are coming out so beautifully, crystal clear and I have assumed they are cured properly… Not showing fingerprints when I touch them and they don’t seem sticky. However, I have been wrapping the resin items in tissue paper to ship them and even though I swear they are cured, the paper has been sticking to the surface and causing me many nightmares. This is even happening to castings that I have been handling for months now, showing no signs of fingerprints. I am really confused and frustrated.
      I know there is the resin spray sealer, would that solve this problem?
      I would like to find a different solution to the spray, if that is the answer. I need a product with more control. My casting are fairly big 4″ tall by 2″ wide and odd shaped. I feel the spray would be hard use causing dripping, splatters, etc.
      The castings are coming out of the molds so perfect and glassy, I hate to ruin them by adding spray spots, lines and drips.
      What about leaving them in a room with a dehumidifier and the heat cranked up?
      Any product suggestions or tricks would be much appreciated!
      Thanks!

Katherine Swift
      Keymaster

Hi Kayla,

What your are describing is typical of polyester casting resin. The surface exposed to air during curing will remain tacky. Yes, everything is cured underneath, but it’s like putting your finger onto tape. I have pieces cast from YEARS ago that are still sticky.