Resin a milky colour on top

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Jade

Hi everyone!

Im relatively new to resin casting but I really enjoy it and have had some successful outcomes.
      Later I was trying to fill these tiny bottles with resin and have head beads floating in them. I planned to mix blue and pink glitter into the resin.
      So I started off filling the bottles just under half way with a glitter and resin mixture, leaving them for a few hours then dropping the beads in. Unfortunately though I quickly realised something was wrong as, once Id poured resin into the bottles, the top of the substance seemed to go all cloudy and milky :(. I couldnt really save the bottles so I went ahead and let them cure hoping it would clear out but sadly they did not.
      Heres what they looked like when done.
      They were supposed to come out a bit like this prototype –
      ^This was one of the first things I made, I had to pour the resin in using a jug and sprinkled the glitter after. When I went to make the proper ones I mixed Decoart Craft Twinkles into the resin before pouring and then used a silicone funnel to accurately pour the resin so it didnt get on the sides of the bottle.
      Im thinking that the cloudy colouring is either caused by the bottles not being completely dry (I rinsed them out with a bit of water and left them to dry prior to pouring the resin) OR I used a bit of baby oil on the funnel to try and prevent the resin from sticking and maybe that mixed into the resin once it hit the bottle.
      Any ideas? I just want to try and figure this out before I have a go at making more cos I now have to throw out 8 bottles because they are too poor quality to use on necklaces. 🙁
      Thank you!
      Katherine Swift

Hi Jade,