resin and glitter

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      Katherine Swift
      Keymaster

This question comes from Tara:

I’m looking to make some resin pendants using silicone, crystal-shaped molds. I want to mix in small pieces of red paper confetti — it’s confetti dropped at the end of a concert, and the piece is meant to be a wearable keepsake because it’s common for fans to collect the confetti and take it home.

This is my first time working with resin, so I tested the confetti in a small batch of Envirotex Jewelry Resin since it’s what I had on hand. I mixed the confetti pieces and some glitter straight into the mix before pouring it into a temporary mold. It turned out pretty well; the confetti held up fine without any bleeding and suspended well. The bigger air bubbles rose to the surface, but there were still a lot of tiny air bubbles around the confetti.

I can’t afford a pressure machine to take all the bubbles out so that’s not an option. I’m wondering, since it’s paper, if I should be sealing the confetti before putting it into the resin mixture. Would that help avoid bubbles? My concern with that is it’s very lightweight paper, like tissue paper, and the pieces are very small. I want it to suspend nicely and kind of randomly inside the resin. Would sealing it affect that or possibly ruin the paper?

Finally, I want the pendants to cure nice and hard, with a clear, glossy finish. I’ve been looking at your recommendations and comparison charts, and it looks like the Resin Obsession Super Clear Resin should be my go-to. Will it produce the desired results? Others I was looking at were the Alumilite Amazing Clear Cast, or Smooth-On Crystal Clear 200 (available from a local sculpture supply store — I understand this one is more for industrial use). Is the Resin Obsession epoxy suitable for use with a handheld rotary tool for polishing, or should that not be necessary?

Thanks very much for your time!

Katherine Swift
      Keymaster

Hi Tara,