Resin artwork finish is matte

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Katherine Swift
      Keymaster

This question comes from Ricky:

I hope you can advise as I’m new to art work and Resin which is something I do as a hobby since retiring. I’ve recently covered some small pieces of art work on canvas with Resin (Pebeo Resin) and left for 24 hours. 2 pieces I’m very pleased with but the other 2 were a little disappointing. One had a slight line mark in which I presume is how it dried and the other although it covered very well it dried a Matt finish. Is there any reason that you know that may have caused this. The 2 other pieces were very good with a gloss finish. The covering for all was from the same mix and art works were placed on a table top within a few inches of each other so room temperature was the same for all. The only thing I can say is that the one dried Matt finish was on a small canvas that was a black canvas rather than like the others which were all white base. Hoping that you may be able to advise a way forward so that I dont experience the same problems again. Thanking you kindly in anticipation

Katherine Swift
      Keymaster

Hi Ricky,

As for the piece with the line, I would suspect the resin started to cure before it was completely level. I have not used Pebeo resin for this purpose. I would want to be sure it is a doming resin. If not, what you are describing is typical. You will want to try a different doming resin for this project. The Resin Obsession artwork resin would be great for this. https://shop.resinobsession.com/collections/resin/resin-obsession-artwork-resin If it is a doming resin, another coat over the entire piece should level things out.

As for the matte finish on the other piece, does the resin look matte on the surface only or does it look matte all the way through?

Ricky McCarthy