Resin pieces tearing silicone mold

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Lucy

I’m still very new to resin and just recently have been having trouble with my pieces in silicone molds. When I go to take my cured pieces out of the mold, they’re stuck to the silicone in some spots, and when I finally get the piece out, there is now tears in the silicone and silicone stuck to the cured piece of resin. It’s happened in three different silicone molds I have.

I’m just not sure what I’m doing wrong.. Is it because I didn’t mix correctly or perhaps because the weather is getting colder? I also was wondering if it was because with these pieces, I did multiple layers of resin. I let one layer cure completely and then added another layer on top of that. Maybe I’m not supposed to do that?

Sorry in advance if this question has been answered already. Thank you!

Katherine Swift
      Keymaster

Hi Lucy,

I’m sorry to hear this is happening to you. Are you using a mold release? What resin are you using?

Lucy

Hi, thanks for replying!

I haven’t tried using a mold release and I use Alumilite Clear Cast resin that I bought from Michael’s.

Thank you in advance!

Molly

I just had this same problem with my silicone mold. One of the four castings in the mold got stuck and tore bits of silicone from the mold. How can I remove the silicone bits from the resin casting? Thanks for your help!

Katherine Swift
        Keymaster

You can try putting it in the freezer to see if the pieces become brittle enough to break off.

Molly Nicholson

I think I REALLY need a mold release for my silicone molds. What are the differences between Petrolease, Ultra4, and Cast n Craft? Is there one that works best with silicone molds? How long do you need to wait after spraying before you can pour in your resin? Thanks in advance!

Ryane Redgrave