Tiny bubbles in molds

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Leah

Hello! Hoping somebody can help.
      I am using House of Molds 7-dice set molds to cast some fun dice. I’m fairly new to resin art and am learning as I go. I started with UV resin and have had pretty good luck with it.
      HOWEVER… I wanted something more versatile so I recently bought some Super Clear Resin Obsession casting resin.

I have not been able to shake the TINY bubbles in my castings. Only in the top half – so they appear to be floating to the top and then sticking.
      Here is what I have tried, based on reading through these forums:
      -warming resin and hardener in warm water bath (still in a plastic bag) for 10+ minutes before beginning to mix
      -warming molds and pouring warm resin into warm molds
      -using vibration to try to coax bubbles out

-I am also curing the resin in a toaster oven at about 40degrees for 1.5 hours. I am not sure if this makes it worse or better??

I can’t use a heat gun because these are closed molds, so it wouldn’t be able to reach the resin inside.
      I’m losing my mind here – I have done at least 5 casts which all have varying degrees of tiny bubbles inside and on top of the cast. I can’t paint these properly because the paint meant to stick inside the numbers just sticks in the little bubble indents.

Please help!
      -Leah

Katherine Swift
      Keymaster

Hi Leah,

I’m sorry to hear things are going as well as you had hoped. You are doing several things right, so let’s see what else you can try here.

I have a few questions for you:

1. Is the resin bubble free before your pour it into the mold?
      2. Are you filling the stem of the mold with resin as well (i.e. overfilling the mold)?

Steve

A pressure pot will remove any bubbles in the cast. They are around $80.00. Of course you’ll need a compressor also. Hope this helps.

Leah