using resin as a protective coating

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Katherine Swift
      Keymaster

This question comes from Alexandra:

Hi! Firstly, thank you so much for this helpful website. I’m new to jewelry making and I recently set up my first Etsy shop and have had quite a few sales! I’m making animal jewelry and I’m looking, desperately, to find a good, hard, clear sealant to cover my little animals. This is my question/issue – I don’t want my little elephants or little mini giraffe earrings to be anything but the shape they are (ie. I’d rather them not be a gold mini elephant in a circular clear ball of resin or square of resin, etc., just the actual shape of the animal itself). Is there a way to “paint” epoxy or polyurethane resin on my little mini animals with a brush? And will they harden that way? My animals are plastic rubber covered in a plastic safe metallic gold spray paint by Rust-Oleum. I have tried SO many other sealants/sealers/finishes and nothing has worked. Eventually the gold spray paint starts to come off around the edges of the animals. Any advice or help would be so incredibly appreciated!

Katherine Swift
      Keymaster

Hi Alexandra,

I love your attention to detail. It’s thoughtful of you to make sure your earrings are going to look great for years to come.

How flexible are the animals? I ask because while the resin can produce a shell, a hard resin will crack if someone tries to squeeze your animals. A softer curing resin may be a better option.

The other thing I’m concerned with is how well resin is going to stick to your animals. Rubber is used for resin molds because resin won’t stick to it. I don’t know if a coat of paint is going to be enough to allow the resin to stick.

Have you tried clear coat acrylic sprays as a sealer?

Jade