Want to make a resin backsplash

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Katherine Swift
      Keymaster

This question comes from Barry:

Good morning, firstly let me say the information on your page is excellent and it was very helpful for me to get some understanding of resin as a complete beginner.

I am looking at renovating my kitchen and I wanted to make custom splashbacks using either a printed design, self adhesive design or wall paper. I have tried to search for tutorial videos on this subject but its mostly workstops that are shown.

Would you be able to provide some guidance on the steps I should follow and also on material to be used.

I thought I could possible use plywood for the backing and paint it to the required colour lay a level of resin and then apply the artwork, and then lay another layer of resin.

This is probably completely wrong and that’s why I wanted to ask the experts..lol

any information would be much appreciated.

Katherine Swift
      Keymaster

Hi Barry,

Thank you for your kind words. Here’s what I can tell you if I were to attempt this project.

In general, plywood doesn’t work well as a resin artwork surface. It tends to warp and bend from the weight of the resin, especially if you don’t have a way to brace the sides (like in a frame). I also don’t know how you would seal the plywood from beneath so it doesn’t wick water into it. That will make the plywood warp as well.

Have you considered using tiles as a backing? You could create artwork on them, then set them into your backsplash.

Meraki

Ive thought of making custom backsplashes kitchen and bathroom shower) and even full floor peices as well. Tile sounds like a great idea. What are your thoughts on making one (or a few) large peice(s) to install instead ld many small peices? Is that doable? Also, ive thought about using stones and crystals in them. Any advice or ideas?

Katherine Swift
          Keymaster