Casting small amounts in wood

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Steve Bird

I’m new to resin casting. I make tabletop gaming accessories with wood and a laser cutter. I’ve recently started making 42mm diameter, 1/4″ thick wood tokens out of multiple layers of laser cut 1/16″ veneer. I’m really happy with how they look, but they feel much flimsier than I expected them to. I’m playing around with filling the voids in the tokens with epoxy resin. I’ve made two attempts so far.

First attempt was a pretty abysmal failure. I borrowed someone’s System 3 5-minute epoxy. I may have mixed it for too long. It was far more viscous than I wanted, and dried cloudy, full of bubbles, and way too quickly.

For my second attempt, I tried “EasyCast Clear Casting Epoxy” which I purchased at Michael’s. I had much better results, but I’m not entirely happy yet. The epoxy is labeled as “ideal for small casts,” but in the instruction insert it says that a 1″ thick cast should take 24 hours at 70-85 degrees to cure, and that thin castings take longer than thin castings. I’ve got a cast that varies between 1/16″ and 1/8″ and our winter thermostat is usually set at 68 degrees (I put the tokens under a desk lamp to keep them warmer). I had some trouble pouring/spreading the epoxy with the precision I would have preferred. It was just a little more viscous than I expected for a casting resin. Also, I was pouring from a silicone mixing cup when perhaps I should have been using a more precision application tool (suggestions appreciated). I also think that the resin might have wicked into the grain of the wood token. Perhaps I should seal the grain with some clear spray shellac before casting the resin?

Questions:
      • What might be the advantages/disadvantages of using “Resin Obsession Super Clear Resin” over the EasyCast product? The documentation gives the impression that it is less viscous and sets a bit more quickly, though still with plenty of work time.