Encasing a clay object in resin

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Katherine Swift

This question comes through email by Laura:

I dont know where best to post this, but I have never worked with resin before, and the project I have is a simple one but Id like to know what would work best for this.

I have a small container, and I have a clay creation that I put inside, I thought I would use resin to fill in around it.
      My first thought was what kind of resin would be best?  From trying to research Ive found from what Ive read that Ice Resin is what to use.
      My next thought is that can I pour the resin over my creation, or do I need to add it after?

Id love to know what advice or anything to look out for in this from someone experience with using resin.
      The only issue I know to watch for is air bubbles and making sure to mix the resin properly, is there anything else I should be aware of?

Thank you very much for any advice!

Katherine Swift

Hi Laura,

Here are a few of my thoughts:

I dont have much experience with clay and resin.  I dont know if it will take up a water stain when coming in contact with the resin.  I would suggest either trying a test piece, or coating the clay with a couple layers of clear drying glue or our resin gloss sealer spray.  https://www.resinobsession.com/ItemPage/5510/CastinCraft-Gloss-Resin-Sealer-Spray-760-UPS-Ground-Shipping.html

Without seeing your piece, I dont know if you need to worry about trapping bubbles or not.  If its solid, you will probably be okay.  If it looks something like a piece of coral, I would suggest dipping it in resin and allowing it to dry on a piece of wax paper first.  It will seal the bubbles in (or out), as these bubbles can pop up later in your next casting.  (Once the resin cures, you can peel it off the wax paper.)