Film on embedded objects

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Katherine Swift
      Keymaster

This question comes through email by Julie:

I love your website and I am a resin newbie. I am having an issue in which I have looked high and low on to get information on. There was one post in your forum regarding “silvering” that came close to my issue but not quite.

I am using Easy Cast and following instructions to a t. I am using polymer clay. Once baked I then glue the item to the bottom of a small glass bowl. I poured all at once, tried another project in layers, and am still having the issue. I have NOT had the issue in standard molds, only in glass. I did NOT seal the clay for one, I sealed the clay with floor wax on the other. Same results on both.

I also have an email in to the company.

I have attached 3 images. The ONLY problem is on the clay embellishments. The resin is curing fine and is clear.

Any suggestions or help would be so much appreciated!

film on embedded objects in resin

Katherine Swift
      Keymaster

Hi Julie,

My thought here is that the film you see is air trapped next to your embedments. It could be from air released from the object during casting. Resin curing is a heat reaction. Sometimes that heat can cause air to be release during the curing process. The other possibility is that the surface tension of the embedded objects is trapping air. I don’t think the resin is a problem since you mentioned things are curing normally.

Here are a few suggestions on what you can try to prevent this in the future:

1. Dip your pieces in resin and allow them to cure on wax paper before embedding them in your fish bowl. That will reduce the surface tension. It will also seal any air in.

2. Seal the items with a two to three layers of our acrylic sealer spray before embedding. This will also seal air in.