How to Use a Pressure Pot

This topic contains 6 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Manuel 1 month, 2 weeks ago.

• Author

Amy Griffith

Hello!

I am new to using resin and have had some success in casting using your super clear product but still have an issue with bubbles. I have a space heater, heat gun, mix slowly and deploy all of the other suggestions posted. I would like to try a pressure pot but I am struggling to find clear and specific instructions on how to use it with a resin that requires the length of cure time as an epoxy resin such as the super clear. Most of the resources I have found online are for castings with the use a resins with a relatively short cure time. I am casting jewelry (using moulds mostly purchased from you 🙂

So my questions are:

– Do you leave the mould in the pressure pot with the compressor running for the full cure time or just a portion of the cure time but left in the pressure pot?

– I have a very large compressor and it is very loud. Can a smaller one be used with say a 2 1/2 gallon pressure pot?

– I am a little confused about the use of both a vacuum, compressor and pressure pot – do I need all 3 for best results and if so, can you point me in the right direction for instructions?

– I read on your forum that the moulds will be fine in the pressure pot – is that the case for plastic and silicon moulds for jewelry?

• #15745 Reply

Katherine Swift
    Keymaster

Hi Amy,

I’m sorry to hear you are experiencing bubbles with the super clear resin. Have you tried warming up the resin first? That is what works best for me. I show how to do that here: https://youtu.be/ugQSgVIP2Uk

As for a pressure pot, the resin has to be under pressure the entire time while it is curing. In the case of the super clear resin, this will need to be 12 hours. The compressor may or may not need to be running the entire time. If you have a good seal on your pot, I would expect you would not need it running.