natural inclusions advice

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      Shannon W.

Hi, I’m just getting started with resin and I’ve had a few ideas that I’m hoping to work on, but need some advice on a few inclusions that I have in mind to use and really don’t want to mess up.
      The first I think might’ve been asked in other threads in different ways, but I’m wanting to try using flowers and plants for some of my pieces; one, in particular, being cherry blossoms. My parents built my childhood house 30-some years ago in the foothills and planted a non-fruiting cherry tree in the yard. The tree never got very big or full and it leans over into the driveway because of the lack of light it had for so long, but every spring it still flowered for about a week after the weather started to warm up. Now, the house is eventually going up for sale and even though I’d already moved out, have some attachment issues regarding the sale and that tree was one of my favorite parts of the property and I had a “lightbulb” moment while I was researching which resins to try, that the next time it blooms this February/March, I can take some of the flowers, dry them, and put them in a resin piece for myself. The kicker is that whenever I’ve tried drying flowers before, the color changed drastically and they didn’t look as nice, and these flowers wilt pretty fast after they’re off the tree. My local craft store has like a silica powder for drying flowers that I’d like to try, but I was wondering if anyone else has successfully dried and preserved cherry blossoms in resin? Also, what flowers/plants have you used that have worked or haven’t worked?