Need some help with clouding/bubbles and curing methods please

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Ryan

Hello everyone!

I have been reading these forums and it seems like a great community here =D
      Newbie here with lots of questions I hope you guys can help me with.
      Currently I am using the product:
      For molds: Easy mold silicone puddy for, I really like it
      Epoxy/Resin: Easy cast clear
      Now for the questions:
      Every time I take my mold out the bottom and sides are cloudy/flat and have a bit of bubbles on the bottom. The top looks great, pure gloss awesome look.
      I follow the instructions very clear, 50/50 ratio on spot. Stir 2 mins slowly etc. No bubbles at all before I pour.
      I was wondering if there is a method to avoid this or is this normal? Do you just sand and buff out the bottom/sides?
      When I first started I would just let it sit in room temp of around 75ish but it would take 4+ days to fully cure it seems.
      I decided to start and use my toaster oven (specifically for powdercoating and other small hobbys, no food lol). I set it at 175 and the clear epoxy ones seem to cure just fine harden great within 15 minutes.
      But the ones I add dyes with bubble like crazy I am assuming this is a chemical reaction with the dye and heat. Just wondering if anyone else has experienced this and knows a way around it?
      Kind of asking a similar question before but as far as the sanding and buffing goes, when I use to rattle spray paint I would just basically go 400 grit – 800 – 1000- 2000 then use rubbing compound, good idea for adding more gloss?
      Any good spray on finishes?
      I would love some good tips, thank! 🙂
      Katherine Swift

Hi Ryan!

Here are a couple of my thoughts about your post: