Problems with bubbles not coming out of resin

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Nicole

Hello, I am very new to resin jewelry making.

I bought the “Enviro Tex Lite, Pour-on, High Gloss Finish,” with a 1:1 ratio.

Anyways I have made a few charms and one bottle cap piece.  I followed the directions and gently blew air on them.  This second time I did it with a straw, which seemed to help but only a little.  I would also take a Popsicle stick or tooth pick and bring the larger ones to the surface to pop.

They all have tons of microscopic bubbles regardless of how many times I tried blowing on/in them.

What am I doing wrong?  Ive already used about 1/3 of my bottles and I dont want to waste any more 🙁

Katherine Swift

Heres a few things Im thinking about here:

1.  You didn’t make any mention of what you’re including in your pendants and bottle caps.  Im wondering if your resin is reacting with your embedments.  When I doubt, I always seal first.

2.  Is your resin warm enough?  It needs to be in an ambient room temperature of 70 to 75 degrees.  Place in a warm water bath for a couple of minutes first before mixing.

3.  How thick are your pours?  This resin should only be poured in thin layers of 1/8 inch or less at a time.  That should be a thin enough layer that your bubbles can come to the surface and escape.

4.  How vigorously are you mixing your resin to begin with?  I advocate mixing deliberately, being careful not to incorporate bubbles. 

https://youtu.be/zJz0SQOCtsY

Nicole

The bottle cap only has a picture of a cat glued to the bottom and thats it.  (with lots of tiny bubbles)
      As for the charms, they either have glitter in them, or on the back of them.
      Then I have 2 charms that have dried/pressed flowers in them, and have some bubbles around a couple of the edges of the flowers. 

As for the suggestions you gave me, I will definitely not "whip" the resin  while mixing any more.  That created tons of bubbles.