Resin and Traditional Art Metal

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Rob Meixner

I have been a traditional metal artist for nearly 50 years making sterling silver, gold and some copper jewelry. About 15 years ago, in an effort to add color to my work, I learned lapidary and now cut and polish most of the lapidary that I use. In the last couple years I have become fascinated with the potential in resin. After looking at the ganoksin site, and others that traditional metal artists frequent, I can’t find a lot of what I would call good traditional metal work that also incorporates resin. Much of what I have found so far is done in purchased findings and some wire wrapping. I have experimented with doming and casting resins and have had some success. My hope is to incorporate harder resins (I am not sure what kind), that will allow me to shape and polish their final surface to be consistent with the shape and finish on the metal work that I do. If anyone can direct me to sites, books and other media that might discuss these techniques and also possibly show work that incorporates more traditional metal working techniques, I would appreciate it. I am ready to purchase more resin supplies, but need a little advice on what to buy and how to proceed first. You can see my work at http://www.robmeixner.com. I am also more than happy to share what I do with others. Thanks…Rob

Rob Meixner