Shine after sanding?

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Dan

No, I meant I get a gritty, frosted finish when using multiple light coats. I cant find the right technique for that happy medium between "gritty" and "dripping".

Kay

I had a piece come out of the mold with a very cloudy surface on it. I sanded it through 8 steps beginning with 500 grit and ending with 6000 grit sand paper. It didn’t begin to look shiny until I hit it with the 6000 grit. Don’t take shortcuts, take the piece through each step. I also gave it a shot of spray resin just as a precaution, it is still nice and shiny.

Dan

Hey all,

Im fairly new to working with resin and I cant figure out how to get a glass-like shine on my pieces after sanding them down. They come out of the molds looking lovely, with said glass-like shine, but when I sand away the excess pieces, I cant seem to restore the gloss to the sanded portions. (I dont own a dremel.)

2,000 is the finest-grit sandpaper I have, and it produces only a satiny matte finish. I bought the Castin Craft Spray, but Im having a lot of trouble with it. I make solid 3-d resin rings and bracelets, not bezel-set items, so I try not to coat them too heavily with the spray. When I spray with too heavy a hand, I get the desired finish but the resin drips while drying. When I use numerous light coats of spray, I end up with a sort of resin "mist" on the piece, that makes the whole piece look matte and frosty, like sea glass. It feels gritty to the touch because the coating is comprised of all those tiny misty droplets.

Folks whove used Castin Craft spray: do you have any pointers on how to use this spray? How far away from the piece should I be holding the nozzle? How long should I hold down the nozzle? I dont feel like ruining more pieces just to figure out these variables.

Also, has anyone ever used Novus plastic polish to polish Epoxy resin to a high shine? Im considering this but I dont want to waste more money.

Katherine Swift

Hi Dan,