Sticky problem!

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Linda

Hello!

Ive been lurking the site for a while now and just decided to join in! *w*
      Im new with the resin stuff, so Id like some advice from you experts… ^^
      Im trying to cast little pendants using East Coast Fiberglass resin, having little success till the moment. It seems like its fine with plastic moulds and silicone ones with a matte finish, but with the glossy silicon ones, I just cant stop it from being sticky!
      Its true its been raining for a while here now, so I added a tiny bit more of hardener, hoping to solve the problem. It didnt cause cracks, but it didnt make it less sticky either. I tried putting them in a hot oven and in the freezer as well, but with little difference on the results.
      Should varnishing the pieces afterwards solve the problem? They look so pretty, but are useless if I cant touch them! =[
      Thanks for your attention!
      Katherine Swift

Hi Linda,Is this the surface that is exposed to air?  If so, Im afraid thats a common problem with polyester resin.  You will either need to coat them with a sealant spray (our gloss sealer spray works well)

https://shop.resinobsession.com/collections/tools-and-supplies/products/castin-craft-gloss-resin-sealer-spray

or you can sand off the sticky surface.  It doesn’t go that deep, so you shouldn’t need to sand much.

Linda

Thanks for your quick reply, Katherine!

Well, on the glossy mold its all sticky, the exposed top and bottom. I have some here Ive done its been a few days now and they seem harder (finally!) but still stick to the surface theyre on if left for too long. Ugh!
      Ill take a look at that spray, many thanks! I think Ill have to sand it down anyway cause of the fingerprints (I had to put pins on them while theyre still soft), or would the spray solve it well?
      Thanks!
      Katherine Swift

Hi Linda,