resin and wood

Home Page Forums Resin Troubleshooting resin and wood

Viewing 22 reply threads
  • Author
      roy

Hello from Scotland Katherine. A request from a male for a change. Im a retired woodworker and got bored. Im trying to make wood and resin pendants, you will know the kind I mean. Half wood at the top and half resin at the bottom. I am using water clear resin polyester at the moment and I cant get the wood to bond to the resin or, if you put it the other way resin to wood. Could you or any forum members enlighten me. I would be most grateful for any advice you could pass on. I hear a lot about Epoxy resin, would this be a better way to go, or is there some kind of adhesive required. Im pretty good with wood but at the moment, resin is not my forte. Thank you in advance for your efforts Katherine. Incidentally this is a superb site. Nothing as good as this in Scotland. Long may you continue.

Roy
      Katherine Swift

Hi Roy,

Using resin and wood together is not something I have done, but I will do my best to answer your questions.

Are you casting the resin separately, then trying to adhere it to the wood, or are you trying to cast the resin and the wood together at the same time?

Is your resin curing sufficiently?

(Thanks for the comments about the site.  Much appreciated!)

roy

Thank you for your quick reply Katherine, considering my query was sent on Saturday. My problem is Im casting the wood and resin together as one piece,(hopefully). As I mentioned I was in the woodworking trade for forty years, so Im familiar with its vagaries but NOT so with the resin. The kind of effect Im trying to

get is similar to what Britta Boekman and Marcell Dunger does, which you may be familiar with, and she uses Polyester resin. Dunger uses BIO RESIN but that stuff is even more expensive than Epoxy. I am very grateful to you for your help Katherine. Take care.
      Roy, from a cold and wet Scotland. 
      roy